Ph.D Programme

The department of Mechanical Engineering at Rajagiri is an authorized center of research under APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University, Kerala (KTU).  In accordance with the RSET vision of evolving into a premier technological and research institution, our research activities focus on molding eminent professionals with creative minds, innovative ideas and sound practical skills, thereby shaping a future where technology works for the enrichment of mankind.
The department of Mechanical Engineering offers research in the areas of Manufacturing Engineering, Computer Aided Engineering and Thermal Energy Systems. In addition to own cutting edge research facilities and laboratories, we also utilize various interdepartmental facilities like HPC (High Performance Computing) cluster at Sunya Lab for advanced computations, FabLab for prototype development, etc.
As per the regulations of KTU, a doctoral student who has selected Rajagiri as his/her place of research should avail the MTech level courses offered by various department of RSET for his/her course work. In case a course recommended by the doctoral committee is not offered during the current academic year, he/she may take it up at any KTU affiliated colleges in the Ernakulam cluster, with the permission of the Principal of RSET.

Currently the department has 5 faculty members who are research supervisors approved by KTU for its PhD programme. Each research supervisor can guide a maximum of 5 doctoral students. Their names, research area and the current number of doctoral students guided by each are given (in brackets).

Dr. Thankachan T. Pullan(Manufacturing Engineering- 1)

Dr. Ajith Kumar. A(Computer Aided Engineering CFD/FEA - 4)

Dr. Manoj G Tharian (Machine design, Structural design, Finite element modelling - 1)

Dr. Mathew Joseph (Thermal management, Phase change materials, Engineering applications of nanofluids and nanomaterials, experimental heat transfer, Refrigeration and air conditioning)

Dr.-Ing. Varghese Panthalookaran