About CMI

RSET is an endeavour of the Sacred Heart Province of the Carmelites of Mary Immaculate (CMI) – the first-ever indigenous religious congregation for men in the Syrian Catholic tradition of Christianity in India. The CMI congregation, canonically established in 1855, played a major role in revolutionizing the education scene in Kerala in the late 19th century. Heirs to the profound vision of the Saint Kuriakose Elias Chavara, one of the founding fathers of the congregation, the CMIs’ have zealously worked towards providing value-based quality education to society at large, irrespective of religious differences, down the centuries.

Today, the CMI congregation is an active presence in five continents and twenty eight nations, with more than 2500 members, engaged in spreading the word of God, working relentlessly to strengthen the sacramental life of the people, undertaking the cause of the underprivileged and downtrodden, and revolutionizing the sphere of education with seats of learning markedly different in terms of academic excellence and social commitment. The congregation has at present more than four hundred and eighty educational institutions, ranging from nursery schools to professional colleges, research centers, and a deemed university spread across the world.

The Sacred Heart (SH) Province of the CMI congregation, popularly known as Rajagiri Province covers the central zone of Kerala. Established in 1953 the province is headquartered at Rajagiri, Kalamassery. Today Rajagiri Province with 300 members has a global presence through various institutions especially educational institutions. The Rajagiri Province set the model for the CMI congregation in education with the starting of Sacred Heart College, Thevara, the first college of the congregation. Subsequently the province has established a chain of institutions under the Rajagiri banner.

Rajagiri Vidyapeetham conceived as a global destination in education - basic to professional education and research – covers the institutions directly under the Sacred Heart province, ultimately destined to become a Deemed University.

The institutions include:

  • Rajagiri School of Social Sciences
  • Rajagiri School of Management
  • Rajagiri School of Computer Science
  • Rajagiri School of Library & Information Sciences
  • Rajagiri Business School
  • Rajagiri International School of Education & Research
  • Rajagiri College of Management & Applied Sciences
  • Christu Jayanti Kindergarten & Public School
  • Rajagiri School of Engineering & Technology
  • Rajagiri High School
  • Rajagiri Kindergarten
  • Rajagiri Public School
  • Viswajyothi Public School
  • Amala Rajagiri Public School