Ramanujan Mathematical Society

Ramanujan Mathematical Society is formed with the aim of "promoting mathematics at all levels". The Society was founded in 1985 and registered in Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu, India. Professor G. Shankaranarayanan was the first President, Professor R. Balakrishnan the first Secretary and Professor E. Sampathkumar the first Academic Secretary. The initial impetus for the formation of the Society was the deeply felt need of a new mathematical journal and the necessity of an organisation to launch and nourish the journal.
The publications of Ramanujan Mathematical Society include the following:

  • Mathematics Newsletter: A journal catering to the needs of students, research scholars, and teachers. The Newsletter was launched in the year 1991 with Professor R Balakrishnan as Chief Editor. Currently, Professor S Ponnusamy of IIT Madras is the Chief Editor.
  • Journal of the Ramanujan Mathematical Society : The Journal was started in 1986 with Professor K S Padmanabhan as Editor-in-Chief. Initially, it was a biannual Journal. Now it has four issues per year. The present Editor-in-Chief is Professor R Parimala of Emory University, Atlanta, United States and the Managing Editor is Professor E Sampathkumar of University of Mysore.
  • Little Mathematical Treasures: This is envisaged as a series of books addressed to mathematically mature readers and to bright students. So far only one book has been published under this series: "Adventures in Iteration" by Dr Shilesh A Shirali.
  • RMS Lecture Notes Series in Mathematics: This is a series consisting of monographs and proceedings of conferences.

Executive Committee

Prof. S. Ponnusamy

IIT Madras, Chennai

Prof. Ambat Vijayakumar

 Vice President
CUSAT, Kochi

Prof. C.S. Aravinda

TIFRCAM, Bangalore

Prof. C. Durairajan

(Bharathidasan University, Trichy)

 Prof. K.S. Charak

Academic Secretary
(University Of Jammu)

Prof. Poornima Gupta

(University of Delhi, Delhi)

Prof. Ashish Kumar Upadhyay

(IIT Patna, Patna)

Prof. Jugal K. Prajapat

(Central University of Rajasthan, Ajmer)

Prof. R. Munshi

 Editor-in-Chief (JRMS)
(Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata)

Prof. V. Kumar Murty

Editor-in-Chief, RMS Lecture Notes Series, CW Series
(University of Toronto)

 Prof. S. Ponnusamy

 Chief Editor (MNL)
(Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology Madras)

 Special Members (Permanent Members of the Executive Committee)

 Prof. E. Sampathkumar
Department of Mathematics
University of Mysore
Mysore 570 006 emails: esampathkumar[at]

65 E.B.Colony
Trichirappalli 620 024 emails: mathbala[at]